Hacking- no it’s not what you’re thinking

Right away when I saw the word “hack” I automatically assumed the negative connotation of it. I know I’m not the only one out there who did the same thing though. The world has changed the view of hacking from one of improvement and skill to one of crime and punishment. If you happen to be a person who did the same exact thing as me and assume it was the second of the two connotations I HIGHLY recommend you take a look at the TED talk by Logan LaPlante “Hackschooling Makes Me Happy” and the blog by Bud Hunt “Centering on Essential Lenses: Make/Hack/Play.”

To start of I just want to say how impressed I am from this young boy, Logan LaPlante, for having the courage to get on stage and potentially speak to millions of people, and let’s not forget giving a fantastic speech. Those facts right there should give a least some hope for “hackschooling.” I enjoyed just about every part of this video. I am glad he explained what his definition of hacking was, then I was able to get the whole picture of his talk, up until his definition I was a little confused. From what I understood hackers are innovators, they challenge and change systems to work better and more efficiently. I don’t necessarily think this means only with technology, I think it could mean with anything from athletics to education to cooking to sewing. I also enjoyed when he started explaining his schooling, it was a real eye opener for this education major. I would agree that it probably promotes more thinking and management of time, but I wouldn’t all together say let’s get rid of traditional schooling. Traditional schooling isn’t bad but it can most definitely be improved and hacking may just be the thing to do so.

Bud Hunt’s blog about making, hacking, and playing was also an interesting read. I wish he would have wrote a little more about each of the three concepts individually but I do think I got his main idea. Basically he talked about how important making, hacking, and playing is and that we need to get their values out to everything, in order to improve education. Being a hands on learner, I would have to agree with him saying each is extremely important to learning, for me they are essential in my education. Each year in school, play time, art, and recess were my favorite subjects, which I’m sure a majority of students today feel the same way. Bud’s idea promotes the use of these subjects and stresses their importance for our students. As our students become future generations we need to prepare them in the best ways, which I would say is the concepts of make/hack/play.

I plan on implementing both Logan’s and Bud’s ideas into my future classroom, as I feel it will improve not only my teaching abilities but the learning abilities of my students. After reading the blog and watching the TED talk I will never look at hacking as a bad thing again, from now on I see all of the positives rather than the negatives.

3079331805_6e46c6b86d_z

2 thoughts on “Hacking- no it’s not what you’re thinking

  1. I think the key to a successful classroom is a learning environment that feels like play time, art, and recess–that offers opportunities for exploration, play, self-direction. It can be challenging to incorporate the qualities of art and recess into the rest of the curriculum, but with a little creativity and hacking, it can be done!

    Like

    • I imagine it is challenge to incorporate everything in a classroom, especially if it is a single subject classroom but I am certainly up for the challenge as long as the students benefit from it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

