6 Things You Should Know About Children’s Literature

This semester has taught me several small lessons about children’s literature and reading in general. I never expected to read as much as I did and actually I have spent this whole weekend reading several different chapter books just to keep me in the reading mood. This list of 6 things could really apply to any genre but it is based on children’s literature.

  1. Don’t Judge a Book by its Cover

This may seem like an easy thing to accomplish but for me it wasn’t at all. I’ve always heard this saying but never really gave it much thought until now. I will admit I am guilty of doing this and I really wish I wouldn’t have been. I picked up many books that had an awesome cover and turned out to be boring and uneventful but I also picked out books with simple covers and they are the ones who made my top ten lists. You never know what is inside until you read it!

2. Don’t Procrastinate!

I know everyone says this but yet does anyone really listen? Well I sure didn’t starting out this semester which made me do a lot of reading right before the blog was due. With me waiting until the last minute meant that I couldn’t really appreciate each book for what it was worth when I should have.

3. Get Involved

With blogging it so much easier to get involved than you think. I loved reading everyone’s progress throughout the week and commenting on each post. I developed a huge list of books, others had read that I hoped to read in the future. Being involved in the kidlitosphere made this semester and class so by very quick and I enjoyed every minute of it!

4. Don’t be Afraid to go the Library

Can you imagine buying each one of these books?! I sure can’t, that would be a lot of cash going into all of my one hundred sixty some books. The library has so many different books and genres that it seems almost pointless not to go there, unless of course they don’t have a book you are interested in.

5. Don’t be Afraid to Ask for Help/Ideas

Going into this semester I was beyond confused and had so many different questions, and I made sure to ask for help and try to understand everything I could. If I wouldn’t have asked all my different questions I wouldn’t have enjoyed this semester as much as I did, when I’m confused I tend to get stressed as I assume some of you do too which is why I say don’t be afraid to ask. Plus they might have some great ideas you never even thought of!

6. Keep an Open Mind

If you go into something such as this class and the blogging atmosphere with a negative look on it you will never see the potential of it all. Sure it sounds a little over whelming at first (I mean reading 30 books a week sounds like a lot) but I guarantee you will develop a routine and get the hang of it in no time! Who knows it might become one of your favorite classes/ assignments!

book fits

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “6 Things You Should Know About Children’s Literature

  1. Don’t judge a book by its cover. Is so very true. I used to be very bad at that. However, one of my favorite books this semester didn’t have that great of a cover and it was one of my absolute favorites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

