Mock Awards

I absolutely love the idea of having a Mock Caldecott or Mock Newbery Award trial in the classroom! It is a fantastic way to get the children involved and excited about reading. I have learned through my own experience that students are more likely to enjoy reading if there is activities and projects to go with them. The idea of having a Mock Award trial in the classroom just might be the best one yet if you ask me.

The most challenging aspect of this activity might be getting the children excited about it though. There is always going to be those one students who think reading is lame and won’t be able to change there mind. I would hope this activity might change their mind but I also hope they don’t downplay this enough to where the other students don’t want to put their full effort into it. The most fun part is coming up with your own ideas and putting in your two cents for everything.

I love the idea of having the students come up with their own rubric for the project, this allows them to decide what is most important in a picture book. It may even be easier for them to decide which one they like best, especially if they understand what to look for. I also think allowing the students to come up with their own drawings for the medals is a great idea. It just brings that much more creativity into the classroom!

Mr. Schu’s list of books sound like they are all great (especially since all the books he picked eventually got honors and awards) but if I had to pick 3, here’s the 3 I’d pick to read:

  1. Lenny & Lucy by Philip Stead
  2. Float by Daniel Miyares
  3. Waiting by Kevin Kenkes

I very much look forward to eventually doing a Mock Caldecott and Mock Newbery in my future classroom!

 

12 thoughts on “Mock Awards

  1. I hadn’t actually thought of getting kids excited as a challenge, but you are completely true. It’s hard to get people motivated in any regard. You would have to convince them that they have power or incentive in the situation.

    Like

  2. I was pleasantly surprised by the idea of a Mock Caldecott! I feel as though it could be rather difficult to implement and possibly time consuming to complete, however the benefits would far outweigh the hardships. While providing the students with a laundry list of beneficial reads, in the end, students will also possess the skills of critical reading and evaluating the text that of which they read; something that each student can carry with them for the remainder of their lives. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  3. I’ve seriously never met a kid who doesn’t like stories. There are kids who don’t like reading (my son is one!), but that may be because they have learning disabilities or challenges that make reading really hard (as with my son). But every kid loves having stories read aloud to them by fluent, enthusiastic readers. So I don’t think motivation is really a problem in our classrooms as long as we are giving students real books to read (not basal readers) and sharing our own enthusiasm with them. I think a Mock award project is a great way to get students involved and excited about reading.

    Like

    • I would have to agree I think having Mock award projects in our classroom would make kids enjoy reading just a little bit more! Projects like these are what can change a student’s mind about reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

