It’s Monday! What are you reading?!

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and a great couple days off! It flew by for me but I really enjoyed spending several days with my family. It’s crazy how much you realize you miss them when you actually get together. My weekend was very loud with everyone home but I’d take the loudness any day if it meant we were all home.

Through all the craziness I managed to complete my four hours of reading with these books….

Knuffle Bunny By Mo Willems

I found a few more Mo Willems books! This one happens to be a short series. It’s about a little girl named Trixie who has a favorite stuffed animal named Knuffle Bunny. Her and her dad go down to the laundromat one day but accidently put Knuffle Bunny in the washing machine. Trixie tries telling her dad but when you’re a baby communicating with adults doesn’t always work. Leave it to mom to realize Knuffle Bunny is missing as soon as they get in the door. They race down to the laundromat looking all over but they can’t find it until dad looks a little deeper.

I have to tell you about the pictures in the book. The background is an actual black and white photograph and then Mo drew the characters in color and added them in. I thought that was a great idea. It makes the characters stand out that much more.

knuffle bunny.jpg

Knuffle Bunny Too by Mo Willems

In this book Trixie goes to school or the first time. She couldn’t be anymore exciting until she comes across Sonja who has the exact same Knuffle Bunny only hers has a bow on top of her head. One afternoon the two Knuffle Bunnies get mixed up and the girls don’t realize it until 2:30 in the morning. Don’t worry there is a great ending to the story and I’d highly recommend the series.

knuffle bunny too.jpg

Knuffle Bunny Free by Mo Willems

This one was probably my favorite one of the series. Trixie and her family take a trip to Holland to visit her grandparent’s house. In order to that they must ride an airplane, you’ll never guess what they forget on the plane…. Knuffle Bunny. Trixie at first has a terrible time getting over her loss but then she realizes how happy Knuffle Bunny will make other kids. They get back on an airplane to go home and Trixie spots something in her seat right behind the noisy baby. It’s Knuffle Bunny! I’ll keep the ending a surprise but it was definitely a great book!

knuffle bunny free.jpg

Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs By Mo Willems

This book was INREDIBLY cute and funny! It is for the most part the same as Goldilocks and the Three Bears but there’s a few twists to it and Mo makes sure to point them out. I really don’t even know how to explain this book all I can do is recommend it to anyone and everyone. I loved this book and plan on reading it several more times! If you’re looking for a funny read this is your book!

goldilocks and the 3 dinosaurs.jpg

Pumpkin Pie by Harriet Ziefert

I thought this book would be very fitting for this past week since I assume many of you had pumpkin pie sometime. Turns out it wasn’t about pumpkin pie at all. It’s about an unruly goat named Pumpkin Pie who enters a goat show. This book was okay I wouldn’t really recommend it but I wouldn’t tell people not to read it. I just found it to be almost boring and not interesting.

pumpking pie.jpg

The Bunny Who Found Easter By Charlotte Zolotow

I know what you’re all thinking…it’s not even Thanksgiving yet and I’m reading an Easter book. Well I am because I thought it looked cute, believe me I’m enjoying the rest of the year not skipping right to next spring. This book is about a bunny who thinks he is the only bunny on earth. One day he asks the owl where all the bunnies are the owl replies “there are always rabbits at Easter.” From that moment on the bunny searches high and low for Easter. This book was very easy to read and would be perfect for around Easter time obviously!

the bunny who found easter

Pumpkinseeds By Steven A. Yezback

Okay now I’m back to fallish books no worries. Pumpkinseeds tells the story of a little boy who is given a nickel from his mom. With that nickel he buys pumpkinseeds but then realizes he should share with others. He walks around town and asks everyone he sees if they want to share his pumpkinseeds with them but they all turn him down. Then finally he realizes who would share with him. This book was an easy read and the pictures were simple yet interesting.

pumpkinseeds

Dog Loves Drawing by Louise Yates

One day dog gets a package from his aunt Dora. Inside the package is a book with no words or pictures on it. Dog then realizes that he is meant to draw in this book so that is exactly what he does. He draws some friends to do some drawing with him. Then they all start to draw different adventures throughout the entire book. They are all having fun until one of them draws a monster. Dog then must figure out how to fix it. This book would make a great read aloud book. It’s fun and the kids could get very involved.

dog loves drawing.jpg

Noisy Nora By Rosemary Wells

Books that rhyme are so much fun to read! This one has a very catchy tune which is very easy to keep up through the whole entire book. Nora is a child of three and can’t seem to get any attention from her mom or her dad. She makes messes, complains, and is just a trouble maker until she decides the best way to get attention is to run away. I think this book would be great for families with children who feel as if they are left out. It might help them understand one another. This book reminds me of the movie Cheaper by the Dozen when their son runs away when he feels as if no one loves him. It was well worth the read!

noisy nora.jpg

Squarehead By Harriet Ziefert

George likes anything and only things that are square like him. He lives in a world full of square friends, square buildings, and even square cats. He wants nothing to do with ovals or circles until one day in his dreams he flies into outer space with different shaped planets and stars. This book could be a good book about diversity, teaching the lesson that being different is okay and you can like different things. The book was very simple to read and I’d recommend it to anyone!

squarehead.jpg

The Waters & the Wind by Francesca Lia Block

To be completely honest I did not enjoy this book at all. It was too hard for me to get into and I was completely confused throughout the whole book. I could tell you the basics of it but that’s about it. To try to remain unbiased in the description I will include the description written by the author:

“I am a thirteen year old double Gemini. I get bad grades, write poetry with my left hand, dance in my room, surf the net. I Google images of the tattoos my mom won’t let me get….

But my world belongs to someone else. Someone who lives below the concrete of Los Angeles, someone with wild eyes and twigs in her hair.

And I think she wants her life back.”

The book was very dark and a little too much for me but I’m sure there are some people out there that would enjoy it.

waters and the wild.jpg

 

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?!

  1. So many great reads this week! I love the Knuffle Bunny series by Mo Willems too! I think we have all had our Knuffle Bunnies growing up -whether it was a stuffed animal, a blanket, or even a piece of jewelry- we all have something that we can’t live without and panic over when it can’t be found. So cute (:

    Like

  2. Knuffle Bunny looks amazing! I have loved Mo Willems’s humor and artwork – another new author to add to my growing collection of favorite authors.
    Which Knuffle Bunny would you recommend to read first? How about to buy for a classroom? Or to give as a gift?

    Like

    • I read Knuffle Bunny first then the other two next, you wouldn’t be confused if you read the other two first but you would have more background. I would also buy Knuffle Bunny for the classroom and as a gift. Actually I’d buy them all but that’s just because I loved them!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs definitely looks like a very fun book! I think Willems is a quite creative and excellent author and illustrator. Also, the Bunny who found Easter seems like a great story for Easter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

