IT’S MONDAY! WHAT ARE YOU READING?!

Happy Monday! I hope all of your guys week was great and you’re ready for a full week of class! This week I actually did most of my reading at home on Tuesday which was very very nice. Anyways here’s what I read….

Mr. Cool By Jacqueline Wilson

Mr. Cool  was a great story about four boys who made up a band called “Mr. Cool”. All of the boys were great at singing, dancing, and looking cool except one boy named Kevin. You could say he was the outcast of the group but he had a great smile and was a great problem solver for the band so when a manager tried kicking Kevin out the other boys stepped in and stood up for him. This book teaches kids that it’s okay to be different, not everyone needs to be exactly the same and not everyone needs to be good at everything. This book is a short chapter book that I would recommend for any upper level elementary student.

mr-cool

Let’s Go for a Drive By Mo Willems

This is a cute short story about a pig and an elephant who are friends that want to go for a drive. Before they leave they run around grabbing everything they need sunglasses, maps, bags, and umbrellas. But then they realize they are missing the most important thing! I won’t spoil it for you but it was a great book and I hope to read more in the series!

lets go for a drive

Are you Ready to Play Outside? By Mo Willems

This is another book in the Elephant and Piggie series just like the previous book and this one is also fun and entertaining to read. In this book Elephant and Piggie want to play outside but it starts to rain and ruin everything, but just as they are starting to have fun in the rain it stops. No worries though Elephant comes up with a great plan to continue to have fun! I would recommend this book for any ages in the elementary school.

are you ready to play outside

Fireman Small By Wong Herbert Yee

This book is perfect for a child dreaming of becoming a fireman! It tells the story of one fireman, the only one in town, and the saving he does one night. The pictures in here keep it fun and easy to read. There is quite a few words on each page so it might be a book to read outloud to a lower level class such as Kindergarten but it wouldn’t be hard at all for upper level elementary students.

fireman small

Peabody By Rosemary Wells

I didn’t enjoy this book all to much. The illustrations were great but I’m not a huge fan of dolls so that’s probably why I didn’t enjoy it. The story was good but it didn’t stand out at all to me. It was about a girl who gets a teddy bear and does everything with it until her birthday when she gets a new doll. In the end it works out okay for everyone except for the doll.  I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone but I’m sure other people would like the book more than I did.

peabody

Big Black Bear By Wong Herbert Yee

This book is about a little girl who lets a bear into her house because he is hungry. The bear has no manners at all and makes a mess in every room of the house. Then the bear is still hungry after eating everything and wants to eat the little girl next. Thankfully a surprise character steps in and helps out the little girl. The book is short and very easy to read. I would recommend it to any ages in the elementary level.

big black bear

Do Monkeys Tweet? By Melanie Walsh

This book is a simple book about all the sounds animals make. The pictures are bright and colorful and it’s very easy to read and understand. It would be really easy for children to get into this book and I can think of many activities to go along with book.

do monkeys tweet

Mr. Knocky By Jack Ziegler

I’m sure most of us can think of an older person who sometimes annoys us, well this book has one of those. All the kids go to this certain spot after school and every time an older man named Mr. Knocky joins them. He won’t leave them alone and they all plug their ears when he starts telling stories. Then one day Mr. Knocky gets hit with a snowball too hard and gets knocked out. The kids are all scared that he’s gone and they start to realize that they actually like having him around. I thought the book was great and would recommend it to anyone!

mr knocky

That is Not a Good Idea! By Mo Willems

I loved this book! It was cute and clever and easy to read. It was about a fox asking a duck to go for a walk and start cooking soup. The whole time ducklings are saying that’s not a good idea because they know that what is going to happen in the end. The ending is actually a surprise so I won’t ruin it! I would recommend this book to anyone because it was very fun to read!

that is not a good idea

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? By Mo Willems

Okay this is the last Mo Willems book for the week but I really do enjoy his books though! This one is about a duckling who asks for a cookie and gets it but the pigeon doesn’t get one when he asks. The difference is that the duckling asked politely and didn’t complain. The ending is very cute and made me giggle!

the duckling gets a cookie

Morgy Coast to Coast By Maggie Lewis

After reading the first Morgy book I saw this one and had to pick it up and read it. I really enjoyed this one not as much as the first one but I usually tend to favor the first book in all series. This was about Morgy and all his troubles in fourth grade. He has two baby sisters, a new dog, a job at the school (which makes people laugh at him), his aunt is getting married, and on top of that he has to worry about hockey try outs. Anyways I won’t spoil the book for you but I would recommend it to any age of upper level elementary students. It is a rather long chapter book but it is fun and easy to read!
morgy coast to coast

9 thoughts on “IT’S MONDAY! WHAT ARE YOU READING?!

  1. Mo Willems is one of my faves!! I have read all of his books that you’ve mentioned in this post and many more. I just love how simple and fun his animation style is and his stories are the same, simple and fun, and sometimes just downright wacky!

    Like

  2. I love the message of “Mr. Cool”; kids should always be reminded it’s okay to be different. I remember hearing about “That is Not a Good Idea!” but have not gotten the chance to read it yet. I will have to check it out!

    Like

  3. I have not heard of any of these books! I think Morgy Goes Coast to Coast looks really cute! Is this a longer book since it is a part of a series? How many books are in the series?

    Like

  4. “The Duckling Gets a Cookie” looks like a really fun book! I think I’ll have to check it out sometime. I read another story by Williams, “Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale,” earlier this semester, and I didn’t really think it was that great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

