FRIDAY 56: OCTOBER 16

I hope you all are having a fantastic Friday as my high school band teacher would say!! For today’s Friday 56 I raided my mom’s book shelves for a book to write about. After looking for about half a second I picked up Chicken Soup for the Mother’s Soul written by Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen, Jennifer Read Hawthorne, and Marci Schmoff. I picked this book because I’ve looked at it countless times growing up thinking someday I’ll read it when I’m a mother. I opened it up and on page 56 was a perfect paragraph for my situation right now as I just left home for school, leaving my supporting mother back home, five hours away.

“You can do it,” she told me. “I know how badly you want to go to Ranger School, and I know you’ll go. You’ll make it. And you’ll graduate.” Her words pushed away my doubts and filled me with strength and resolution.

I thought this was a great because this sounds exactly like my mother only a few short months ago. I couldn’t have asked for a better mother and I’m truly grateful for her and all her support. I’m excited to read this book one day. All the stories in the book sound like great encouraging memories!!

CHICKEN SOUP

Leave a Reply

