THE FRIDAY 56: SEPTEMBER 18TH

This week I looked into my kindle for a good book and I found one of my mom’s books. It’s called The Rhythm Boys of Omaha Central by Steve Marantz

“The Negroes see George Wallace as the personification of all that is evil in racism,” the Reverend John O. McCaslin wrote in a letter to his fellow priests.

I haven’t finished this book yet but I understand the gist of it. It’s actually an interesting read about the civil rights movement. Like I said before I’m not much of a history person, in fact the only reason I started to read this book is because my grandfather went to Omaha Central and actually remembers some of the names and events the book mentions. It is a well written book and very fascinating, it could keep anyone entertained.

5 thoughts on “THE FRIDAY 56: SEPTEMBER 18TH

  1. The book sounds pretty interesting. Talking with your grandfather and hearing his experiences is an amazing connection too!
    Has your grandfather read the book? Do you talk with him about the topic? Or, is it one of the things that our grandparents don’t want to talk about?

    Like

  2. This is a very neat experience you get to share with your grandfather. I never use to care much for history however the older I get the more I wish I would have paid attention in class. History really fascinates me more and more these days. I hope you enjoy the rest of the book and you become more of a history person! Enjoy the time you get to spend with your grandfather and share these memories.

    Like

  3. I had no idea that there was a book about that school or the historical happenings that occurred. That is pretty neat that you have instant relation to someone who was there. I, too, have a hard time caring about history but then sometimes I wish I payed better attention, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

